Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum is deeply saddened by the passing of long-time ASHFM supporter Orest Korbutt. 

Orest was inducted in 2013 as a Multisport Builder. His many contributions to sport will not be forgotten, particularly at the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame, where he worked closely with Staff, Board, and Hall of Fame Members to ensure the preservation of sport history for all to enjoy.

Please take a few moments to reflect on Orest’s amazing legacy to sport and read his induction biography below:

Orest Korbutt retired from the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museums Board of Directors in 2012, after serving as its only Chairman for 15 years. He was the driving force behind the fundraising, development and vision for the ASHFM building that was built in 1998/99, and for its ongoing growth during his chairmanship. Orest was Chairman of the Alberta Sports, Recreation, Parks & Wildlife Foundation for ten years and served as a Director with the Alberta Sport Council from 1986 to 1992. Orest was President of Hockey Alberta, the Edmonton Knights of Columbus hockey program, and was a director with the Canadian Hockey Association.

Orest was an outstanding volunteer for many organizations and made a significant impact on sport development at all levels. He was also involved in Youth Sports Development and Scholarship opportunities. His strong commitment to hockey throughout the years was shown through his achievements and major roles in purchasing the Knights of Columbus Hockey Twin Arenas and being instrumental in the management of the rink. He was a pioneer in the development of international ice hockey, and was very involved in the initiation of hockey exchange programs with the Hokkaido, Japan Ice Hockey Association and the Chinese Ice Hockey Association.

Orest Korbutt received the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Award in February 2013. He was inducted into the Edmonton Sports Hall of Fame in 2001, the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in 1988, and was a Life Member of that organization. He was awarded the Hockey Canada Order of Merit.