Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Edmonton Oil Kings, 1963 1966


The Edmonton Oil Kings, a junior hockey team, played against men in the rugged senior Central Alberta Hockey League (CAHL). The 1963 Oil Kings began their playoff run competing in both the junior and senior ranks- at the same time. They entered the Memorial Cup playoffs and won the Abbott Cup. At the Memorial Cup final, the Oil Kings lost the first game 8-0, and then battled back in one of the roughest and most memorable series ever, to win the Cup four games to two. The Oil Kings returned to the Memorial Cup final in 1966 held in the venerable Maple Leaf Gardens. In game six, with the score tied 1-1in the third period, Oshawa Generals defenceman Bobby Orr stepped on the stick of the Oil Kings’ Ross Perkin’s and fell. Ted Hodgson took the puck, went in on a breakaway and scored for the Oil Kings. The team held on for a momentous 2-1 victory to win the Memorial Cup. That was the first time a team from the west captured the title in the east since 1930. This was the seventh straight year that the Oil Kings went to the Memorial Cup during a run where the team qualified for the national championship a staggering nine times in the span of twelve years.


1963 Edmonton
Oil Kings:

Ron Anderson
Butch Barber
Tom Bend
Roger Bourbonnais
Buster Brashaw
Jim Brown
Rich Bulloch
Jim Chase
Vince Downey
Jim Eagle
Bob Falkenberg
Harold Flemming
Doug Fox
Russ Kirk
Leo LeClerc
Bert Marshall
Max Metstinsek
Jim Mitchell
Butch Paul
Gregg Pilling
Pat Quinn
Dave Rochefort
Glen Sather
Walter Serediak
Reg Taschuk


1966 Edmonton
Oil Kings:

Ron Anderson
Garnet Bailey*
Doug Barrie
Bryan Bennett
Don Caley
Craig Cameron
Bob Falkenberg
Brian Hague
Al Hamilton
Jim Harrison
Galen Head
Ted Hodgson
Bill Hunter
Kerry Ketter
Ray Kinasewich
Jim Knox
Swede Knox
Ross Lonsberry
Don McLeod
Jim Mitchell
Harold Myers
Eugene Peacosh
Ross Perkins
Murray Pierce
Dave Rochefort
Ted Rogers
Jim Schraefel
Walter Serediak
Red Simpson
Ron Walters