Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

University of Lethbridge Pronghorns 2007-2009

  • Categories: Team,  Rugby
  • Team Name: University of Lethbridge Pronghorns 2007-2009
  • City or Town: Lethbridge
  • Year Inducted: 2015
  • Media Link 1: Induction Vignette


The Lethbridge Pronghorns Women's Rugby Team won three straight CIS Championships in 2007, 2008 and 2009 under head coach Neil Langevin.

The Pronghorns entered the 2007 season as the front runners. In the conference final, Lethbridge was victorious and claimed their second consecutive conference championship in a 3-0 victory. They qualified for the CIS Championship Tournament, where they claimed their first-ever Monilix Trophy with a 15-10 win over the host Western Mustangs. First year winger Christie Pierson paced the team with two tries. Freshman Brittany Orr was the first Pronghorn to be named the CIS Championship MVP. Brittany Orr, Shannon Court and Amanda Richardson were named tournament all-stars.

Lethbridge hosted the CIS Championship in 2008. Kendra Gavelin had three successful tries in the semi-final game as they beat a tough Guelph squad 39-3 to go on to the final. The championship game against St. Francis Xavier was played in front of more than 1,000 fans. The Pronghorns fought back throughout the game and had an exciting 29-15 come-from-behind victory. Captain Ashley Patzer, who had missed the 2007 championship due to national team duties, excelled during the 2008 run and was named the CIS Championship MVP.

During the 2009 season, the team outscored their Canada West opponents 333-7. The 2009 National Championship game was once again played against St. Francis Xavier. Defence was the hallmark of the Pronghorns, as they forced the X-women into making mistakes in their own end. Lethbridge scored 15 unanswered points in the first half, and went on to a 20-3 victory. Named to the all-star team were Brittany Orr, Ashley Patzer, Kelsey Willoughby, and tournament MVP Andrea Letal.

A lasting legacy of the Pronghorns' success was the creation of the Rugby Academy in Lethbridge by the Alberta Sport and Development Centre South West (ASDC-SW).
CIS rugby is one of the key stepping stones to the National Sevens and 15's Canadian Teams. Many of the Pronghorn players graduated to the U20 and Sr. programs, paving a way for the current level of success by Canada on the international stage.

The Pronghorns were inducted into the Lethbridge Sports Hall of Fame in 2011.


Team Members

Ahart, Genevieve
Akutowicz, Jillian
Armstrong, Courtney
Boulet, Toby (TM)
Brown, Rachael
Brown, Rikki Lee
Campbell, Cassie (S Th)
Corliss, Heather (S Th)
Cougle, Janice
Court, Shannon
Dautremont, Tiffany
Davidge, Genna
de Kok, Natalie
Duxbury, Lindsey
Faulkner, Courtney
Gavelin, Kendra
Gillett, Quinn
Hake, Stacey
Hendricks, Alex
Hogg, Robynne
Jonsson, Katelyn
Kelly, Roxanne
Koning, Chantal
Kossuth, Rob (AC)
La Rose, Bernadette
Langevin, Neil (HC)
Laurent, Allie
Leavitt, Kim
Letal, Andrea
Luhowy, Kim (AT)
MacDonald, Ashley
MacKenzie, Regina
McDougall, Norm (AC)
McIndoe, Michelle (S Th)
Murphy, Kevenza
Murphy-Burke, Laura
Murray, Jena
Ogrins, Austin
Ondrus, JJ (AC)
Orr, Brittany
Patzer, Ashley
Pierson, Christie
Ralph, Kenzie
Raslask, Carly
Reeves, Kenda
Richardson, Amanda
Robinson, Amanda
Rogers, Cindy
Stearns, Emily
Stefanyk, Kessie
Stewart, Kim
Suttie, Lynn
Van Eck, Nicole
Van Eeuwen, Brandi
Wickwire, Jennifer
Willoughby, Kelsey
Woynarowsky, Paula
Zaremba, Ashley
Zoeteman, Brittany