Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Pat Ryan 1985 - 1989

  • Categories: Curling,  Team
  • Team Name: Pat Ryan 1985 - 1989
  • City or Town: Edmonton
  • Year Inducted: 1999


The Pat Ryan Curling Team, known as "Ryan's Express", curled out of the Ottewell Curling Club in Edmonton. Ryan’s Express included Randy Ferbey, Don Walchuk, and Don McKenzie. They were four-time Alberta Champions in 1985, 1987, 1988, and 1989. The Pat Ryan Team set a Canadian Championship record at the 1988 Brier by winning with a perfect 12-0 record. They were also the first team to win consecutive Briers since the playoff format was introduced in 1980, winning the Canadian title in 1988 & 1989. The Pat Ryan Team closed out their curling careers together as a team by defeating Switzerland 5-4 to become the 1989 World Champions. The Pat Ryan Team was inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1994.

Team Members

Ryan, Pat [Skip]
Ferbey, Randy [3rd]
  McKenzie, Don [Lead]
Walchuk, Don [2nd]