Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Lanny McDonald

  • Categories: Athlete,  Hockey
  • City or Town: Calgary
  • Year Inducted: 1993
  • Gender: Male
  • First name: Lanny
  • Last Name: McDonald


Lanny McDonald went from playing his minor hockey in Hanna to winning the 1989 Stanley Cup as a right-winger and co-captain of the Calgary Flames.

During his junior years, he played for the Lethbridge Sugar Kings of the Alberta Junior Hockey League, and also for the Medicine Hat Tigers of the Western Hockey League where he earned 253 points in 136 games.

His first National Hockey League game was played in October of 1973 as a member of the Toronto Maple Leafs. He played a few seasons for the Colorado Rockies prior to being acquired by the Calgary Flames in 1981.

Lanny McDonald scored over 500 career goals, earned more than 1000 career points, played in over 1000 games, and appeared in four NHL All-Star games during his 16 seasons as a professional hockey player.

He has been awarded the Bill Masterton Trophy, the King Clancy Trophy, and the Budweiser Man of the Year Trophy for his accomplishments. Lanny McDonald's #9 jersey has been retired and now hangs as a tribute to him from the rafters of the Calgary Saddledome.

Since Induction:

  • Served with the Calgary Flames in multiple capacities, including Vice President
  • 1990 - #9 Jersey was retired by the Calgary Flames
  • Was the General Manager of Canada's 2001 and 2002 World Championship Team, and was the Director of Player Personnel for the 2004 gold medal championship team
  • Served on the Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee for nine years and was elected Chairman in March 2015
  • Has given his time, support, and name to many charities and organizations including Big Brothers, the Ronald McDonald House, and the Special Olympics


  • 1983 - Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy
  • 1987 - Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award
  • 1988 - King Clancy Memorial Trophy
  • 1989 - NHL's Man of the Year

Hall of Fame Inductions:

  • 1992 - Hockey Hall of Fame
  • 1993 - Alberta Sports Hall of Fame
  • 2015 - Chairman of Hockey Hall of Fame
  • 2015 - Hockey Alberta Hall of Fame
  • 2017 - Canada's Sports Hall of Fame