Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Lethbridge Maple Leafs 1951

  • Categories: Hockey,  Team
  • Team Name: Lethbridge Maple Leafs 1951
  • City or Town: Lethbridge
  • Year Inducted: 1974


The Lethbridge Maple Leafs were formed in 1940 by a group of former Lethbridge senior and junior hockey players. In 1950, they captured the Western Canadian Championship. The Maple Leafs were selected to represent Canada at the World Amateur Championships in Paris, France in 1951. Headed by Dick Gray, they won the gold medal following which they entered the Sir Winston Churchill Cup Competition, again winning the gold medal. The Lethbridge Maple Leafs were the first holder of the Cup. During their European tour, they played 62 games winning 51, tying four, and losing seven of them.

Team Members

Branch, Ken*
Chandler, Bill*
Flanagan, Denis 'Dinny'
Flick, Bill
Gibson, Bill*
Gray, Dick*
Hughes, Mallie*
  Knibbs, Bert*
Malacko, Jim
McGregor, Robert*
McLean, Don*
Milroy, Nap*
Negrello, Hector*
Obodiac, Stan*
  Rimstad, Walter 'Whitey'*
Roth, Lyle 'Mickey'
Siray, Lou*
Sorokoski, Carl 'King'*
Sumner, Jack*
Vogan, Don*
Wood, Tom*