Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Ernie Afaganis


The name Ernie Afaganis is synonymous with sport the world over. He joined CBC Edmonton in 1961, after nine years in private radio and ten months of freelancing. Always available to high schools for speaking engagements, he spoke at an average of 50 dinners and banquets per year - gratis - for amateur sports and charitable groups. Coverage and promotion of amateur sports has always been a part of his career. En route to becoming one of Canada's premier sportscasters, he covered world rowing, amateur wrestling, Silver Broom Brier Curling, Arctic Games, World Figure Skating, World Gymnastics, National Junior Football Finals and College Football Finals, plus many more events.

Since Induction:

  • 1988 - CFL Hall of Fame - Football Reports of Canada section
  • 1988 - Hellenic World Hall of Fame
  • 1991 - Lethbridge Hall of Fame
  • 2001 - Lifetime Award - Sports Media Canada
  • 2007 - CBC Sports Hall of Fame
  • 2010 - Eastern Washington University - Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame - Service and Contribution Award

Ernie Afaganis was the most recognized voice of the CFL from 1955 to 1980. He covered summer and winter Olympic Games from 1968 to 1996. From 1974 to 1994, he was on the broadcast crews for the Pan Am Games, Commonwealth Games and Canada Games. Ernie broadcast the Canadian Open Golf championship from 1961 to 1986, Montreal Expos Baseball and NHL playoffs in the 1980's and the Calgary Stampede from 1979 to 2000. His list of broadcast accomplishments also includes World Basketball Championships, World Curling Championships, and international hockey games. For 26 years, he hosted the popular Par 27 Golf Show.

Ernie served as president of the CFL Writers and Broadcasters Association and was named to the CFL Hall of Fame in 1988. He was inducted into the Lethbridge Hall of Fame in 1991 and the CBC Sports Hall of Fame in 2007. He received Sports Media Canada's Lifetime Award in 2001. Ernie graduated from Eastern Washington University in 1952 and received their Service and Contribution Award in 2010.