Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

1984/85 NAIT Ooks Mens Hockey Team

  • Categories: Hockey,  Team
  • Team Name: 1984/85 NAIT Ooks Mens Hockey Team
  • City or Town: Edmonton
  • Year Inducted: 2017
  • Media Link 1: ASHFM Vignette


The 1984/85 NAIT Ooks capped a historical season with their Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA) Championship win. They were the first varsity national champion hockey team from Western Canada to win every regular and post season game – 25 ACAC regular season games, five ACAC playoff games, and three CCAA games. During their run, they set six ACAC regular season records with most goals (222), most assists (343), most points (565), most wins, fewest losses, and highest winning percentage. During the Christmas break, the team travelled to Switzerland to play in a tournament, where they won four of five games and brought home the Altjahres Cup.

The NAIT Ooks captured the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) title when they posted three victories over the Red Deer College Kings. In March of 1985, the NAIT Ooks travelled to Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, for the CCAA National Championships. While there, the Ooks beat the Cariboo College Chiefs 8-2, the Seneca College Braves 5-2, and ultimately won the CCAA Championship Bowl trophy after their 9-2 victory over the Victoriaville College Vulkins.

During the regular and post season games, the Ooks scored 267 goals and allowed only 74 against – a difference of nearly six goals per game on average. Their winning percent of 1.000, surpassed the record of Alberta's various national championship hockey teams from the midget, junior, college, university, senior, and professional ranks. The 1984/85 Ooks team had set the longest win streak in league history, with a fifty-two game win streak against ACAC rivals that began on December 4, 1983, and ended on October 19, 1985.

Members of the team also received individual awards for their contributions to the team's success. Coach Perry Pearn was named ACAC Coach of the Year. Players selected for the ACAC First Team All Conference Selections included: Cleo Rowein (Goal), Ken Goodwin (Defense), Jamie Bartman (Defense), Ron Amyotte (Forward), and Sid Cranston (Centre). Jamie Bartman and Mike Spencer were also named CCAA Tournament All Stars and Cleo Rowein was named the CCAA Tournament's Most Valuable Player.

The 1984/85 team was inducted onto the NAIT Athletics Wall of Fame in 2007 and into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in 2012. One member of the team, Ken Goodwin, was inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2008.


Amyotte, Ron Leach, Brenn Schultheiss, Cindy [T]
Bartman, Jamie Leach, Gary Schultz, Mark
Bokenfohr, Darrell [AC] McBride, Bill [Dr] Simmons, Dave
Cranston, Sid McCaskill, Hugh Simpson, Don
Dahl, Patti [T] Melnyk, Murray Spencer, Mike
Goodwin, Ken Melnyk, Scott St. Cyr, Paul [AC]
Haddon, Gary Pearn, Perry [HC] Stapleton, Kevin
Hayes, Garth Perkins, Wayne [AC] Stein, Brian [PR]
Imrie, Kevin Phelan, John [AC] Tookey, Mike
Kenny, Ross Repchuk, Randy Tookey, Tom
Lastiwka, Jeff Rowein, Cleo Watson, Bruce [M]
    Yaschyshyn, Rick [T]