Article text

Sport Affiliation - To be Added


All in one search

Nomination Information

The Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum functions as both a Hall of Fame and a Museum. The Hall of Fame has inducted over 900 members since its inception in 1957. Alberta has so many incredible athletes, builders of sport and volunteers that should be recognized and honoured for for their contributions.

A nomination and selection process for induction into the Hall of Fame is held every year. Individuals are nominated by the general public through an open nomination process. The final selection of Inductees is determined by a Selection Committee. Nominees are categorized as Athletes, Builders, and Teams. There are also three awards that can be presented annually: Pioneer Award, Achievement Award, and the Bell Memorial Award.

The selected Inductees are announced to the public every spring and celebrated at the annual gala. This Induction Banquet is open to the public with more than 600 guests in attendance, including Honoured Member alumni, Government officials, Sport Organizations, Sporting Teams, and of course family and friends of the new Inductees. The event not only honours these great Albertans but it recognizes the importance of sport in our lives and communities.

Nominations for Induction into the Alberta Sports Hall must be received no later than January 31st of each year.

Please submit completed nominations forms and support material to:
Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum
#102 - 4200 HWY 2
Red Deer AB & T4N 1E3

Nomination Packages

Complete and print the Nomination Package below. If you have any questions or concerns regarding your nomination or the procedure please call Debbie at 403-341-8614.


Evaluated with respect to his/her physical contributions to sport including National and International levels of competition, personal achievements, awards, or accomplishments, as well as, the impact they made on his/her sport in Alberta.

Download the Nomination Form for Athlete


Evaluated with respect to their leadership capacity and his/her outstanding effort in one or more sports over a period of at least 10 years. May be a coach, trainer, manager, official, administrator, volunteer, facility/program developer, or media, but is NOT a professional promoter, sponsor, or fundraiser. A Builder nominee will be evaluated on the overall impact he/she made to sport in Alberta.

Download the Nomination Form for Builder


Open to any Alberta-based team, consisting of two or more individuals, that has been victorious at at National or International level. Evaluated on its overall achievement, accomplishments, or awards, as well as on the impact the team made to sport in the province.  

For teams that have won consecutive Championships, the nucleus of the team must have remained intact over the Championship run. Alberta athletes and coaches participating on a National team, which has won an International Championship, may be nominated/inducted as a group.

Download the Nomination Form for Teams

Pioneer Award

This award was established in 2000. The award honoured an athlete, builder, or team that made an impact on the athletic life in Alberta 50 years prior to the current year.  An annual selection in this categoy is not mandatory.

Download the Nomination Form for Pioneer Award

Achievement Award

This award was established in 1983 (formerly called the Special Award). It is presented to an individual(s) as an acknowledgement of their extraordinary achievement as an athlete or builder in sports.  An annual selection in this categoy is not mandatory.

Download the Nomination Form for Achievement Award

Bell Memorial Award

This award was established in 1973 by the Bell Family in honour of Chester Bell, son of the late Max Bell, a former publisher of the Albertan. The award is presented to acknowledge members of the media (sportswriters, broadcasters, etc.) who demonstrate outstanding dedication to the coverage of amateur sports in Alberta.  An annual selection in this categoy is not mandatory.

Download the Nomination Form for Bell Memorial Award